How To Close A Shopify Store

Even though Shopify is one of the most popular and accessible e-commerce sites currently available, it might not be the perfect fit for everyone who signs up, and if you find yourself falling into that category, we’re here to help. 

Whether you’ve recently decided to part ways with Shopify because you no longer want to pay the monthly cost, or you’ve found a different e-commerce site that you’d like to go with instead, you’ll need to first close your Shopify store before you decide to do anything else. 

How To Close A Shopify Store

That’s where this guide comes into play. Below, you’ll find easy-to-follow steps on how to successfully close down your Shopify store for good, as well as important preparatory steps and things to consider to make the process as smooth as possible.

Read on.

Closing Your Shopify Store: Things to Consider

The good news is that, regardless of how old or young your Shopify store is, you can close it at any time you like.

However, before we take you through the steps of how to successfully shut your store down for good, there are a few important things worth considering first, so that you can be sure that you’re making the right choice:

You’ll no longer have access to your Shopify admin 

As soon as you hit that delete button, you’ll no longer be able to access your Shopify admin alongside your store.

Therefore, if you needed to access it for any reason, you would need to re-enter your credit card information and reactivate your store in the process, which is something to keep in mind. 

You will need to close it manually

Another to keep in mind is that Shopify will not be able to actually close your Shopify store down for you.

Though they will be able to offer you assistance if you need additional help or have any questions, they won’t be able to close your store for you, only you will be able to do that. 

You won’t be able to create a new store with the same name or domain

This is one of the most important things to keep in mind before making the decision to go ahead and close your store down for good.

If you do decide to do it, then you won’t be able to then go ahead and create a brand new online store that has the same store name (on Shopify) or create the same Shopify domain. 

Therefore, if the only reason as to why you want to close your store is because you want to rebrand or you’re bored of the website layout and want to start over, you should consider taking a pause, which will give you time to start over without losing your Shopify domain.

Closing Your Shopify Store: Preparatory Steps

If you’re sure that closing your Shopify store is right for you, here are a few preparatory steps you should take beforehand:

  • Make sure you have paid all outstanding charges - If you don’t make sure to do this, you might receive a charge against your account after closing it. 
  • Ensure that all third-party apps with your payment information are canceled - Before you close your shop, make sure that you cancel subscriptions with all third-party applications so that you will stop being charged.
  • Turn off auto-renewal for your custom domain (if you have one) - If you’re saying goodbye to your store for good and have no plans on uprooting it elsewhere, then you’ll need to cancel the auto-renewal of your custom domain, otherwise, you will continue to be charged for it. 
  • Shopify’s HTTP Policy remains in effect for 90 days - If you’re switching platforms, Shopify’s strict policy will remain in effect on your domain for 90 days after closing your store.

Closing Your Shopify Store: Step-by-Step Instructions

For Desktop Users:

  • From your desktop, login as you normally would, making sure that you’re using the store owner credentials.
  • Go to Shopify admin, press on settings, and then click on the ‘Plan and permissions’ tab. 
  • After you click on this tab, you should see a Store status page. Go to this section and press the ‘Sell or close store’ button. 
  • After you get to this stage, Shopify will prompt you to enter your password in order to continue. 
  • Shopify will then offer you the chance to contact them if you are undecided or need some extra help. However, if you’re certain that you want to go ahead with the closure, then all you have to do is select a reason from the drop-down menu you’ll see on screen, and then press on ‘Close store’. 

If you wanted to, you could then type in your Shopify store’s URL into Google, to see if it has closed down successfully. If the store no longer exists, then it has been closed down. 

For iPhone and Android Users:

  • Log in as you normally would, ensuring that you are using the store owner credentials. 
  • Inside the Shopify app on your phone, head over to ‘Store’ and then once there, press on ‘Settings’. 
  • Once you’re in the Settings area of the app, press on ‘Plan and permissions’. 
  • In Plan and permissions, there will be a ‘Store status’ area, press on that and then select the option to ‘Sell or close store’. 
  • Press on ‘Close store’.
  • Once at this point, you will need to enter your password to continue, which Shopify will prompt you to do.
  • Once you have done this, Shopify will then give you the option to contact them to discuss the reasons why you wish to close your store, as well as if there is anything they can do to help you. However, if you’re decided and you want to go ahead and close your store, all you will have to do is select a reason for why you want to close from the drop-down menu on the screen, and then click on ‘Close store.’

After you have done this, you can then hop onto the internet and paste your URL into the search bar. If your store no longer exists, then it has successfully closed down for good.