How To Pause Your Shopify Store

Shopify is one of the leading e-commerce sites that allows you to sell products and run your business online. However, in some instances, store owners may need to pause or even cancel their Shopify store.

If you’re unsure whether you want to cancel the store or need a break from Shopify, you should choose the pause option.

How To Pause Your Shopify Store

Unlike canceling your Shopify account which deletes your entire store and products, pausing only disables your checkout. This means customers can not buy any of your products but they can still view them.

With this option, you can log back in one day when customers may be queueing up to buy some products.

It is important to note that you will still be charged the cost of running your store, even when it is paused. This can be combated by canceling all the apps within your store individually.

Additionally, you will receive a final bill if you have any charges left on your account when it is paused.

If you are sure you want to pause your Shopify store, continue reading to find out how.

Which pause plan is best for you

Before you go ahead and pause your store, you need to decide which pause plan will suit you best. You can choose from:

  • The Pause and Build Plan
  • The Pause Plan

The Pause and Build plan

This allows you to pause your Shopify store but continue to work on it. This comes with a reduced subscription fee. This allows you to access your Shopify admin in case you want to optimize areas of your store as well as edit products.

However, your checkout will be disabled so, while customers can visit your store, they can only browse your products but not purchase anything. 

The Pause and Build plan is a very useful option for many store owners, especially if your products are seasonal such as Christmas decorations or Halloween items. 

You can only choose the Pause and Build plan if you have been on a paid plan for at least 60 days after the end of your initial free trial.

The Pause plan

Using the Pause plan allows you to pause your store for three months with the added benefit of not having to pay a subscription fee. During this paused period you can step away from your store and focus on other important duties.

You can not access any Shopify admin options with the Pause plan, however. You also can not work on your store or sell to any customers during this time.

Instead, visitors will view a message that informs them that the store is temporarily closed. Nonetheless, you can still receive customer emails addresses to let them know when the store will be reopened again.

It is possible to reopen your store at any time within the first three months. Just log back in and choose a new plan. If you do not reopen your store within this time frame, you will be automatically upgraded to the Pause and Build plan with the reduced subscription fee.

Even when your store has been upgraded, it will remain closed to customers. You will be able to access your Shopify admin and work on your store again for when, and if, you reopen in the future.

The Pause plan can only be selected if you have been on a paid plan for at least 60 days after the end of your free trial.

Pausing your Shopify store

If you’re a Shopify store owner and the store is eligible, then you can pause it by using your Shopify admin. Here, you can pause your store temporarily or close it completely. 

There are two ways to pause your store:

  • Pause the store but continue to work on it
  • Pause the entire store and not use it 

Let’s take a look at how to pause your store.

Step 1

Go to your account - Log in to your Shopify account and access the admin page. Scroll down on the left-hand side of the screen and click on the Settings button. Next, click on Account.

Step 2

Click on Pause Store - Scroll down until you find the Store Status button. Here, you will see three options. Click on Pause and Build or Pause depending on which option suits you best.

Step 3

Click on Pause Store again - The site will ask you to pause the store once again. Once this is clicked, a small dialog will appear and state the terms and charges. Read this carefully and then press the Pause and Build or Pause option one more time.

Step 4

Confirm your choice - Once you are happy with your pause plan, you can go ahead and confirm by clicking Confirm Changes. 

Reopening your store

If you choose to reopen your store at some point, it couldn’t be simpler. If you chose the Pause and Build option, follow these steps:

  • Log in as the store owner
  • Go to Shopify admin and click settings
  • Click Plan and Permissions
  • In the Plan Details section, click on Select a Plan
  • From the available options, select a pricing plan 

Once you select a plan, you are ready to start selling your products again.

If you chose to Pause and step away, you can select a new plan by:

  • Logging in as the store owner
  • Selecting a pricing plan from the available options

Once again, when your plan is selected, you can start selling from your Shopify store.

If you set up a password for your Shopify store while it was on a pause plan, then you can remove the online store password. To do this, simply:

  • Log in to your Shopify account
  • Go to Shopify Admin
  • Click on Online Store > Preferences 
  • Click on the Password Page section and uncheck the Enable Password Page
  • Finally, click Save

In Summary

If you decide to pause your Shopify account, it is very easy with minimum fuss.

This is the best option if you plan on returning to your store at some point or if you work seasonally.